Remove Cluster Disk in DPACK

Team DPACK

Overview

The DPACK collector software is able to identify and differentiate locally attached disks and disk clusters within individual devices using unique LUN naming IDs and disk serial numbers assigned to disks and any applicable clusters.  In rare instances, there may be a need to break a cluster disk and list each node of the cluster as a local disk for each device.  This a change in the capacity statistics within the DPACK project.  This change will not affect the disk performance statistics (IOPS, latency, throughput, etc).

The DPACK web portal has added a feature that will allow you to destroy a cluster disk and list each disk node as a local disk for its server.  This features should make it easier to repair any incorrect disk associates with a project.

Below are the instructions for how to destroy a DPACK cluster disk.

Prerequisite Information

  • The DPACK project has already been created from one or more DPACK collector runs
  • Access to a DPACK account should already be complete before beginning the following steps.

Create a Cluster Disk

Step 1:  Access Performance View of project

  1. Locate project to view and click on the name at the top
  2. Once the project opens, click on the Performance View tab

Step 2:  Open DPACK Cluster Disk Modal

To destroy a cluster disk from a DPACK project, locate the cluster disk under "Shared Cluster Disks and click onto it.  In the right window under the details of the selected cluster disk, click the "Modify Disk"link.

Step_2_-_DPACK_Cluster_Disk_Modal.PNG

 

 

Step 3:  Click "Destroy"button to remove cluster

To create a break up the cluster disk and add its drives back to each server as a local disk, click the "Destroy" button at the bottom of the modal window and click "Yes"when prompted for confirmation. 

Step_3_-_Destroy_Disk.PNG

Click "Yes".

 Step_3_-_Confirm_Destruction.PNG

Step 4:  Review new cluster disk

Once DPACK breaks up the cluster, a prompt will show up that the operation was successful.  The destroyed cluster will no longer appear in the "Shared Cluster Disk" list, the disk nodes in the cluster will be changed for each server involved, and the project will recalculate its statistics.

Step_4_-_CLuster_Destruction_Notice.PNG

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Please sign in to leave a comment.